Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 31 total)
  • Author
    JimmyT
    Participant

Up until now the assumption has been a fusion generator with a pulse rate of 200 Hz. Then conditioning the electricity to 60 Hz and blending it in the grid with other 60 Hz electricity. But it might make more sense to redo the grid and distribute the electricity at 200Hz. Perhaps do the conditioning at distributed substations, or not at all. Maybe make 200Hz the new standard. All appliances and motors and electric gadgets need replaced every 20 years or so anyway. Adopting a new standard IS possible.
    This might be the way to go in the long run. It would be in keeping with the decentralization thyme we’re shooting for, and might save megabucks long term.

WARNING! I am not an electrical engineer. Someone warn me if I’m talking out of my A**.

JimmyT
    Participant

I know that 200Hz may not be the eventual pulse rate. So, substitute whatever number it ends up being into the above discussion.

zapkitty
    Participant

JimmyT wrote: Up until now the assumption has been a fusion generator with a pulse rate of 200 Hz.

Focus Fusion units are intended to be drop-in replacements for existing infrastructure… wherever and whatever that infrastructure might be. This enables FF implementation [em]without[/em] forcing changes in standards or requiring massive stranding of current grid assets.

JimmyT wrote: Then conditioning the electricity to 60 Hz and blending it in the grid with other 60 Hz electricity.

It sounds like you’re thinking AC and the raw output of a unit will be in HVDC. That means that there will have to be conversion at each unit or cluster of units regardless of local electrical standards and thus the output of a particular unit will be tuned to whatever is needed at that particular locale.