The Focus Fusion Society Forums Story, Art, Song, Self Expression On Reaching College Students

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author
    LINKed up
    Participant

Currently, I am a freshman at Stevens Institute of Technology. We have a class here that we are required to take called Engineering Experience in which we are required to go to 6 seminars on various facets of the engineering field, such as workplace ethics. At one point we were going to have a seminar on Tokamak fusion, but the person got sick and had to cancel. Would the FFS be willing to send someone here to give a talk on focus fusion? I think that reaching the college students here would be a very good thing, because there will probably be at least a couple here that will ask their parents to donate. On top of that, some of the next generation of engineers, doctors, researchers, and possibly lawyers would know about focus fusion, which could never hurt the cause.

Rezwan
    Participant

Thanks! Great idea. Lectures at colleges and other venues is something we’d like to do more of. Where is this Stevens of which you speak?

LINKed up
    Participant

It is in Hoboken, NJ. The website is http://www.stevens.edu/ and the Dean in charge of the Experience program is Keith Sheppard.

Rezwan
    Participant

Sounds great. Eric would be happy to fit in a talk at Stevens. When could this be done? Turns out, this is where some of the key DPF work was done.

Rezwan
    Participant

Hey, just checked out your bio. I see you’re aware of the Bostick Nardi connection.

Also, thanks for filling in the bio and adding an avatar. We must encourage more members to do this.

Finally: Music? Electronica? If you ever feel like adding some to FFS movie soundtracks (in development) – let me know.

LINKed up
    Participant

I can check with the Dean at the start of next semester as to when the talk could be done. First on the checklist is to survive finals. πŸ˜›