The Focus Fusion Society Forums Plasma Cosmology and BBNH Is Galaxy rotation responsable for apparent CP violation

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    jamesr
    Participant

A new paper http://arxiv.org/abs/1107.1575, by one of the academics in my department at Warwick (different group), suggests a possible explanation of the matter/antimatter ratio problem.

An slightly more accessible explanation of the theory is given in the press release:
    http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/newsandevents/pressreleases/galaxy_sized_twist/

I’m not very good at particle physics & general relativity, but is sounds an like an interesting hypothesis that can be tested. I guess by correlating CERN data with the orientation of the Earth with respect to the Galaxy at the time.

JimmyT
    Participant

Interesting speculation, but I personally don’t buy it. This would suggest that galaxies which have opposite rotation would be comprised of antimatter.
    I know what the standard comeback is for this criticism. It’s “The galaxies are so far apart that this can happen”. But I don’t buy this either. We have too many observations of colliding galaxies. With no apparent mutual annihilation events in evidence.
    If rotational twisting of space is the reason for this parity violation it has to be at some larger scale then galaxies. (Hard to imagine but possible)

jamesr
    Participant

How can two have opposite rotation? if one rotates clockwise as viewed from the top, then its anticlockwise when viewd from the bottom.

The labelling of galaxy spin as up/down is as abitrary as whether we switch the names of matter & antimatter. By conventional big bang theories the matter/antimatter baryonic particles would have condensed out of the high energy soup before they began to collapse into galaxies and spin-up. So the early Universe would have been symmetric. Only now that we are in regions of space with significant gravitational twist is the symmetry broken.