Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    Charles Wilcox
    Participant

Since this is essentially a community driven effort, I believe you need some defined set of iconography, used for logos and the like. Once developed this could be used as imagery to build the Focus Fusion name on in whatever public efforts. For example, if we had such graphics, the website would have it in a few key places, and it could be easily use it when promoting, such as on clothing, (Tee-Shirts as is noted on another forum,) printed materials, etc.

I have my own ideas, but I am no graphic artist; (at best I’m an amateur art critic… 🙂 ) Neither have I any marketing experience. Here are few ideas:
    – an abstracted version of the plasma focus, as currently depicted in the purple shot used very frequently here. There used to be an illustration on the old site that showed this, but it was somewhat… bland.
    – a 2-D version of the plasma focus device. I know there is a few floating around, but they are grainy, and the labels are nigh impossible to read. I guess I’m thinking something bright and clear, something you’d expect from a good student textbook or websites like HowStuffWorks.com.
    – a variation or extension of the above, couple that diagram with the decelerators for the ion streams and show the “wire electricity” being generated.
    – a 3-D version of the whole setup working. I was initially thinking something more “bold”, perhaps depicting the setup while in operation, with the camera perspective close to one the the jetting ion beams. Something that would work as the cover of “Amazing Stories” or “Analog”.
    – a more subtle abstract graphic to act as a all-purpose logo. The suggestion used for the tee-shirt theme would be a potential one.

Some general characteristics that seem to be common in my ideas, and things I think would be good discriminators: