The Focus Fusion Society Forums Lawrenceville Plasma Physics Experiment (LPPX) On some necessary conditions for p-11B ignition in the hot spots of a plasma focus

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Di Vita
    Participant

Dear Sirs,

my name is Andrea Di Vita. I am an Italian plasma physicist, and this is my first post on the Focus Fusion Society Forums. I would like to introduce a paper of mine

On some necessary conditions for p-11B ignition in the hot spots of a plasma focus
    Eur. Phys. J. D (2013) 67: 191 DOI: 10.1140/epjd/e2013-40096-3

where I discuss LPPX in comparison with existing Plasma Focus experiments all over the world, and check the applicability of available scaling laws to LPPX.

Here is the abstract:

‘Recently, it has been predicted that hydrogen-boron (p-11B) nuclear fusion may attain ignition
    in the hot spots observed in a plasma focus (PF) pinch, due to their huge values of particle density,
    magnetic field and (reportedly) ion temperature. Accordingly, large magnetic fields should raise electronic
    Landau levels, thus reducing collisional exchange of energy from ion to electrons and Bremsstrahlung losses.
    Moreover, large particle densities, together with ion viscous heating, should allow fulfilment of Lawson
    criterion and provide effective screening of cyclotron radiation. We invoke both well-known, empirical
    scaling laws of PF physics, Connor-Taylor scaling laws, Poynting balance of electromagnetic energy and the
    balance of generalised helicity. We show that the evolution of PF hot spots is a succession of relaxed states,
    described by the double Beltrami solutions of Hall-MHD equations of motion. We obtain some necessary
    conditions for ignition, which are violated in most realistic conditions. Large electromagnetic fields in the
    hot spot accelerate electrons at supersonic velocities and trigger turbulence, which raises electric resistivity