The Focus Fusion Society Forums Focus Fusion Cafe A Physicist's Overview

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    TheTeacher
    Participant

As a practicing nuclear physicist, I wish to comment on the science underlying this effort, and upon certain enhancements and limitations that may hinder/benefit the development of this type of power.
    No plasma over about 4,000 deg K can be confined by material walls; there has to be electric field or magnetic field containment. As such, the plasma must be 100% ionized. Symmetric electrical field containment is intrinsically unstable; hence the Farnsworth fusion generator constantly produces emitted jets of plasma through the confinement electric field, effectively reducing the ability of the unit to maintain constant over-unity power generation. Similarly, magnetic field containment, as exemplified by Tokomak type fusion reactors, suffers from inability of long-term (i.e more than 3 seconds) containment due both to instabilities in the magnetic field and instabilities in the plasma itself.
    The reason that very high temperatures are required for fusion is that elevated temperature increases the relative kinetic energy of the nuclei, such that the Coulombic repulsion between similarly charged nuclei are overcome. The temperature required increases with the number of positive charges between the interacting nuclei, and decreases with the number of neutrons in the nuclei, due to the strong nuclear force being charge insensitive.